Raincoast Books

What Will You Read Next?

Subscribe Rss 14x14
Subscribe by Email

Contributors

Brooke
Danielle
Fernanda
James
Jamie
Megan
Melissa
Nadia
Pete

Blogs by our Distribution Partners

AMACOM Books
Chronicle Books
Drawn & Quarterly
Gibbs Smith
Lonely Planet
Moleskine
New Harbinger
Princeton Architectural Press

Search

Categories

Archives

Tags

Email Alerts

Go here

Flickr

flickr

Blog

← Back to Blog

28 New Rep Picks For Spring 2019

by James
Animals & Nature + Biography & Memoir + Current Affairs + Fiction + Mysteries and Thrillers + Science Fiction and Fantasy + Food & Drink + Health & Wellness + History + Kids + Music + Parenting + Picture Books + Psychology & Self-Help + Travel + YA Fiction / February 21, 2019



Spring is coming right around the corner, and to celebrate the new season, here are some fantastic book recommendations from our sales reps! Happy reading!
 

Books for Adults
 

The Collected Schizophrenias
by Esmé Weijun Wang

"This book is a fascinating exploration of mental illness, from an author who has been diagnosed with schizophrenia. Wang’s essays are both touchingly personal and a journey through the history of mental illness and its diagnosis. Intimate, empathetic, and full of insight, this book is a must read!"
—Ali Hewitt
 

Women Rowing North
by Mary Pipher

"In Reviving Ophelia, Mary Pipher helped generations of girls and their parents navigate the choppy waters of adolescence. In Women Rowing North, she is examining the challenges and cultural issues women face as they age and offers a guide to wisdom, authenticity and bliss. There is a huge market of women looking for advice and support and Pipher is perfectly placed to offer it."
—Judy Parker


A Deadly Divide
by Ausma Zehanat Khan

"In this gripping new mystery, Detectives Khattak and Getty investigate a shooting at a mosque in Quebec City that looks like a hate crime."
—Laureen Cusack


The Little Island Bake Shop
by Jana Roerick

"I love Jana’s baking and am so happy to have her recipes!!!"
—Saffron Beckwith


Queen Bey

by Veronica Chambers

"In addition to being a record-breaking artist, Beyonce is a business woman, mother, daughter, sister, wife, black feminist and most importantly, one of the greatest stars of our time."
—Jessica Price


Rupture
by Ragnar Jonasson



"Fourth in Ragnar Jonasson’s Icelandic thriller series, starring detective Ari Thor. If you are fan of Nordic Noir, or not, read this dark atmospheric mystery, packed with fabulous scenery, quirky characters and a strong plot-driven story."
—Karen Stacey


Kid Gloves
by Lucy Knisley



"I really “relished” Lucy’s first book about her lifelong relationship with food and I can’t wait for her new graphic memoir about her difficulties conceiving and being pregnant. Lucy has been hyping this book’s “birth” with forty weeks of fun pregnancy facts on her Instagram, amidst (spoiler alert) photos of her super cute son!"
—Dani Farmer


She Explores
by Gale Straub



"In a time when people are choosing to spend money on travel and experiences over accumulating stuff, this book is perfect. Gorgeous travel photography with women’s personal stories of adventure and reflection—this book is the next best thing to actually spending time in the wild."
—Evette Sintichakis


Why You Like It

by Nolan Gasser

"This book explores the science and sociology behind why we fancy the sounds of our favourite musical artists. I love so many genres of music—what does that say about me?!"
—Laurie Martella


The Future Is Feminist
Edited by Mallory Farrugia

"Who run the world? FEMINISTS! A collection of brilliant essays by beloved feminist icons in one beautiful package. The perfect book for feminists of all ages."
—Laura MacDonald


Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions

Third Edition
by Gloria Steinem, foreword by Emma Watson

"Gloria Steinem’s timeless collection of feminist essays is back in a third edition with a new foreword by Emma Watson and new preface by Gloria Steinem herself! A worthy and essential addition to any feminist collection."
—Jenny Enriquez


Upon A Burning Throne
by Ashok K. Banker



"Ashok K. Banker, while not as well known in the West, is the founder of Indian fantasy fiction, similar to what Tolkien was for European literature. He has written more than 52 books, and has gained international following. Upon a Burning Throne is his latest title, featuring diverse characters, relentless action and an ongoing mystery sure to please all fantasy readers!"
—Louis-Marc Simard


Freedom from Anxious Thoughts and Feelings

by Scott Symington, PhD



"Anxiety is the most common mental health issue in Canada today, so any and all help is necessary! In Freedom from Anxious Thoughts and Feelings, Scott Symington introduces an incredibly simple concept to help us all redirect our thoughts back to what is happening in the present moment and move away from a life where we are ruled by our worries. Because everybody needs help sometimes."
—Morgen Young

 

Books for Kids
 

Tiny T. Rex and the Impossible Hug
By Jonathan Stutzman, illustrated by Jay Fleck



"It’s tough to give your friends hugs when your arms are so small, but Tiny T. Rex must find a way! This adorable picture book is the start of a new series starring this lovable dinosaur. I dare you not to fall in love with the plucky and charming Tiny T. Rex. I DARE YOU."
—Jenny Enriquez


A Friend for Henry
by Jenn Bailey, illustrated by Mika Song

"A Friend for Henry is a beautifully illustrated picture book told from the point of view of a child on the autism spectrum. The author gives us insight into Henry’s perspective, modeled after one of her sons on the spectrum. The touching and positive story will touch everyone’s hearts, children and adults alike!"
—Louis-Marc Simard

Voices
by David Elliott



"An extraordinary retelling and exploration of how Joan of Arc changed the course of history! In this age of the Throne of Glass, Divergent and the Hunger Games series, what better time to reintroduce the original kick ass female heroine? A novel told in verse, Voices is also perfect for fans of The Song of Achilles and Circe. Sure to be a hit with readers of teen fiction as well as teachers and librarians."
— Morgen Young

Comics Will Break Your Heart
by Faith Erin Hicks



"A sweet, funny contemporary teen romance for the inner geek in all of us."
— Saffron Beckwith


Fox & Chick: The Quiet Boat Ride
by Sergio Ruzzier

"In the classic canon of buddy books, Fox and Chick set out on a boating adventure—one an enthusiastic sailor and the other a landlubber who hates to miss out on any adventure. Told in three parts this hybrid of an early reader and picture book, illustrated in a comic book style, will be a hit for emerging and reluctant readers alike."
—Lorna MacDonald

The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
by Julia Nobel



"Emmy’s time at a prestigious boarding school uncovers a secret society that may have played a part in her father’s disappearance."
—Laureen Cusack


The Road Not Taken
by Robert Frost, illustrated by Vivian Mineker



"Robert Frost’s beloved poem is as thought-provoking and beautiful as ever in this picture book! The imaginative interpretation of the classic poem will speak to readers of all ages. This would make a great gift to anyone facing one of life’s many transitions."
—Evette Sintichakis


The Similars
by Rebecca Hanover

"Debut author Rebecca Hanover writes a real page-turner, sci-fi YA novel filled with tension and a thrilling story of six clones who enroll at a prestigious boarding school alongside their originals. Things can only get complicated."
—Laurie Martella

Games on the Go

by Lonely Planet

"Train, plane, boat, car, no matter how you are traveling, these games will keep boredom at bay. A must pack addition for any family trip, big or small!"
—Jessica Price


Fly Girls: Young Readers’ Edition
by Keith O’Brien

"20th century aviation history from the female pilots’ perspective. This is the story of the women pilots who joined the “boys” in the very popular sport of plane racing in the 1920s and ‘30s. A fascinating story of young women determined not to be denied their place in history. Just as Beryl Markham should be read by all young girls, so too should this book. For all those who loved Hidden Figures, here is a story of courageous liberated women ahead of their time."
—Karen Stacey


You Are New
by Lucy Knisley

"Being a new human is hard work! There are so many things to learn and taste and see. Then, just when you think you’ve got a handle on this “being” thing, you grow and there are a bunch of new things to learn! Good thing rhyming text and adorable illustrations from Lucy Knisley are here to provide a guide. Check out the page with the cat-hug… it’s my favourite."
—Dani Farmer

My Brother Otto
by Meg Raby, illustrated by Elisa Pallmer



"A little something for the siblings of the neurodiverse! As the younger sister of someone with developmental delays and disabilities, I would have LOVED a book like this when I was a kid—and I think my parents would have appreciated it too. My sibling does things their own way, maybe I understand them, maybe I don’t, but that’s okay! I love it!!"
—Laura MacDonald


The Little Guys
by Vera Brosgol



"Graphic novelist Vera Brosgol has written another subversively funny picture book. As a graphic novelist, her storytelling ability is stellar and her illustrations are perfectly matched to this story of the rampaging little guys. The message of uniting the community is subtle and doesn’t take away from the fun of the read aloud."
—Judy Parker


Brave Molly
by Brooke Boynton-Hughes



"In this panelled, wordless picture book, our heroine has to defeat the monsters of anxiety that follow her around. After trying to run from the shadowy monsters, Molly bravely confronts her anxiety and makes a friend, with the help of a good book. Author/illustrator Brooke Boynton-Hughes’ drawings do a wonderful job of capturing the fear of rejection, and the joy of a new friend we all feel."
—Ali Hewitt


 

Leave a Comment

Name:

Email:

Location:

URL:

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below: