Raincoast Books

What Will You Read Next?

Subscribe Rss 14x14
Subscribe by Email

Contributors

Brooke
Danielle
Fernanda
James
Jamie
Megan
Melissa
Nadia
Pete

Blogs by our Distribution Partners

AMACOM Books
Chronicle Books
Drawn & Quarterly
Gibbs Smith
Lonely Planet
Moleskine
New Harbinger
Princeton Architectural Press

Search

Categories

Archives

Tags

Email Alerts

Go here

Flickr

flickr

Blog

← Back to Blog

10 Books to Read this Summer

by Melissa
Biography & Memoir + Fiction + Mysteries and Thrillers / June 22, 2018

The books you need in your beach bag this summer.

Visible Empire

By Hannah Pittard
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Available: June 5, 2018
$36.00 cdn cl / $22.99 cdn pb · 288 pages
9780544748064 ·  cl / 9781328551306 · pb

Selected as the June Book of the Month by Belletrist Book Club, Visible Empire is an epic novel based on a real plane crash that was carrying over 100 of Atlanta’s elite, and the aftermath on the city.

"On June 3, 1962, a flight carrying more than 100 of Atlanta's wealthiest residents crashed on takeoff from Paris. Pittard's kaleidoscopic novel, a fictionalized account of that disaster and its aftermath, illuminates the personal and communal grief (and, in some cases, wicked delight) of those left behind."- O, the Oprah Magazine, "Top Books of Summer"

 

The High Tide Club

Mary Kay Andrews
St. Martin’s Press
Available: May 8, 2018
$36.50 cdn cl / $24.99 cdn pb · 480 pages
9781250126061 ·  cl / 9781250199621 · pb

New York Times bestselling author and “queen of the beach” Mary Kay Andrews is back with the perfect poolside companion that has it all: mystery, romance, and friendship.

“Andrews creates a story that is at turns suspenseful, sad, and hopeful, with plenty of surprising twists. Her dialogue is natural and funny, and even her minor characters are fully drawn with unique voices. Another satisfying summer read from the queen of the beach." – Kirkus

 

The Sun Does Shine

Anthony Ray Hinton and Lara Love Hardin
St. Martin’s Press
Available: June 5, 2018
$34.99 cdn · 272 pages
9781250205797 · cl

Oprah’s Book Club Summer 2018 selection, The Sun Does Shine tells Anthony Ray Hinton’s story of the thirty years he spent on death row for a crime he didn’t commit, and his amazing endurance throughout.

"An urgent, emotional memoir from one of the longest-serving condemned death row inmates to be found innocent in America. A heart-wrenching yet ultimately hopeful story about truth, justice, and the need for criminal justice reform." - Kirkus, starred review

 

Bring Me Back

B.A. Paris
St. Martin’s Press
Available: June 19, 2018
$34.99 cdn cl / $24.99 cdn pb · 304 pages
9781250151339 · cl / 9781250193506 · pb

Looking for a suspense novel while you’re soaking up the sun? Look no further than New York Times bestselling author B.A. Paris’ latest psychological thriller that you won’t be able to put down!

"Outstanding Hitchcockian thriller… Paris plays fair with the reader as she builds to a satisfying resolution. Fans of intelligent psychological suspense will be richly rewarded." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

Jar of Hearts 

Jennifer Hillier
Minotaur
Available: June 12, 2018
$34.99 cdn cl / $24.99 cdn pb · 320 pages
9781250154194 ·  cl / 9781250193490 · pb

Canadian author Jennifer Hillier’s latest mystery will keep you guessing until the end in this page-turning read about three best friends—one who was murdered, one who went to prison, and one who’s searching for the truth.

“Jar of Hearts grabs you by the throat! The perfect blend of riveting characters, chilling details, and gasping twists in this standout thriller will keep you frantically reading until the explosive end." - Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author of Right Behind You

 

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind

Barbara K. Lipska
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Available: April 3, 2018
$34.00 cdn · 208 pages
9781250193490 · cl

Barbara Lipska, a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness, was diagnosed with a deadly cancer that was spreading inside her brain and plunged her into madness. Until the treatment she was prescribed began to work and eight weeks later, she returned to normal—but with all her memories intact. Remarkable and insightful, this memoir is perfect summer reading.

“A remarkable story about strength, endurance, and human's capacity for recovery, The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind truly captures what it is like to struggle with mental illness.” – Bustle

 

Shelter in Place

Nora Roberts
St. Martin’s Press
Available: May 29, 2018
$36.50 cdn · 448 pages
9781250161598 · cl

Just in time for summer, there’s a new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts! With suspense, heart, and romance, Nora Roberts’ latest will keep you enthralled as you soak up the sun.

“Roberts' newest is part thriller, part romance, part survivors' psychological study with a touch of New Age magic—and a lively, captivating read.”Kirkus

 

How Hard Can It Be?

Allison Pearson
St. Martin’s Press
Available: June 5, 2018
$36.50 cdn cl / $24.99 cdn pb · 384 pages
9781250086082 · cl / 9781250201300 · pb

The hilarious follow-up to the New York Times bestseller I Don’t Know How She Does It, How Hard Can It Be? follows Kate in her new adventures and has already been named one of People Magazine’s Best Summer Books!

"Brilliant, funny, and tender. Tackling sexism, growing older, and understanding one's needs when catering to those of so many others, Pearson writes realism with all the fun of escapism." Booklist, starred review

 

Wicked River

Jenny Milchman
Sourcebooks
Available: May 1, 2018
$37.99 cdn cl / $21.99 cdn pb · 464 pages
9781492664413 · cl / 9781492658993 · pb

A suspenseful and gripping new thriller set in the Adirondack forest, Wicked River makes perfect beach reading for fans of psychological suspense.

“Wicked River is partly a who-is-my-husband-really story, partly a horror-in-the-wilderness story, and partly a Manhattan-family drama, all rolled up in elegantly propulsive prose, and shot through with sinister suspense."- Lee Child, New York Times bestselling author

 

How to Walk Away

Katherine Center
St. Martin’s Press
Available: May 15, 2018
$34.99 cdn cl / $23.99 cdn pb · 320 pages
9781250149060 · pb / 9781250199614 · pb

Nina George, author of The Little Paris Bookshop, says “if you read just one book this year, read How to Walk Away.” A stunning novel that explores tragedy, love, and hope, How to Walk Away is a summer must-read.

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg."Kirkus

Leave a Comment

Name:

Email:

Location:

URL:

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below: